Nerd Fitness

I’ve been trying to “get into shape” for a while now.

It started back at the beginning of the school year when a few of my co-workers joined a gym near my house. I had been going to Zumba for a while up to that point but I had been struggling to keep it up for a long time. So I bit the bullet and joined the gym with my co workers.

It was great at first. The beginning of my school year was super stressful because I had several students who had temper tantrums in class and were difficult to handle. I would get off work stressed and frustrated and then go run it all off at the gym.

Ironically, when things calmed down at work, my gym attendance dropped off. It was strange because I felt like I had more time on my hands but I couldn’t get myself to the gym.

So I’ve been trying to get myself back into it because I still really want to be stronger and more fit. I was looking around on the internet for help when I remembered Nerd Fitness. I had considered joining their fitness program when I first started at the gym but the idea of paying for the gym membership AND the program just seemed like too much at once. Then I promptly forgot all about it.

Once I read back over their program, I was hooked. It’s all about improving yourself, getting stronger, and “leveling up your life”.

He’s designed it as a video game to help motivate you through the levels. You even have to have a boss battle (and win) to move to the next workout level.

It also gives you a ton of information and guidance with your diet and mindset. I am particularly happy with the diet portion. It has really given me the understanding and the motivation to really adjust my eating habits.

I had attempted to give up bread and pasta over the previous summer and it didn’t work. I craved it all the time and had pretty bad energy crashes because I wasn’t getting enough energy from my meals.

This time, I’m taking it slowly and I’m being less intense about it. I haven’t really found myself craving too much bread or pasta the way I did before and I’m definitely not having energy crashes. I’m eating a lot of meat and veggies at every meal and mostly just drinking black coffee, water and coconut water.

And when I do eat outside of my diet, it’s my choice to do so-not a craving. I don’t let myself feel guilty about it because it was a choice. I’m still on the diet and the next meal will be within that.

I am still struggling with going to the gym but I’m getting better at it. I like the workouts and I also like knowing that I’m working towards something (the boss battle). It’s also pushing me to try new equipment and exercises. Right now, I’m working on doing an unassisted chin up! Something I’ve never really been able to do. Bodies are freaking heavy! I always underestimate how heavy I am. I guess I figure that I carry myself around all day long so it should be so bad but when I ask my arms to pull my whole body up? Whoa.

Anyways, I’m hoping to keep up with this program and to continue to improve my eating habits too. I love the idea of arms with muscles and strong legs…

I really want to get the most out of the last two months of school before I head home for the summer, because as you know, I’m getting married! While I try to encourage myself with being fit for the wedding, I also just want o have a healthier lifestyle-not just a perfect wedding. That’s why I like this program, it feels like something that I could incorporate into my life and keep it there. Casual but long-lasting.

I’ll keep you updated as I level up my life in the next months! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Nerd Fitness

Leave a comment